Around Fresno Things To Do Places To Go People To See Restaurants Movies log into calendar / register
Search by keyword or venue View Listings For A Day
    space Add Event



Art of the Word 2

Art Show, Museum, Painting, Drawings/Works on Paper
In the "Art of the Word 2" exhibition, the Fresno Art Museum honors two Fresno literary icons and five visual artists who have illustrated their words over the past 20 years. Featured on the walls of the Contemporary Gallery are excerpted writings from children's books by U.S. Poet Laureate Juan Felipe Herrera and Carnegie Medalist Gary Soto and some of the illustrations their words inspired. The exhibiting artists illustrated the words of either Herrera or Soto, creating pictures to enhance the stories by the respective writer. They include non-fiction, fiction, and fantasy. The artists include Joe Cepeda ("Big Bushy Mustache" by Soto), Raúl Colón ("Portraits of Hispanic American Heroes" by Herrera), Elizabeth Gómez ("The Upside Down Boy: El niño de Cabeza" by Herrera), Susan Guevara ("Chato's Kitchen," "Chato and the Party Animals" and "Chato Goes Cruisin'" by Soto), and Ed Martinez ("Too Many Tamales" by Soto).
fbseven; fbart
Event Info: (559) 441-4221
Price: $10, $5 ages 6-17, free for ages 5 and under
Event Website: http://www.fresnoartmuseum.org/exhibitions
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Thu 4/27/17 - Sun 4/30/17 at 11am-5pm 
 • Thu 5/4/17 - Sun 5/7/17 at 11am-5pm 
 • Thu 5/11/17 - Sun 5/14/17 at 11am-5pm 
 • Thu 5/18/17 - Sun 5/21/17 at 11am-5pm 
 • Thu 5/25/17 - Sun 5/28/17 at 11am-5pm 
 • Thu 6/1/17 - Sun 6/4/17 at 11am-5pm 
 • Thu 6/8/17 - Sun 6/11/17 at 11am-5pm 
 • Thu 6/15/17 - Sun 6/18/17 at 11am-5pm 
 • Thu 6/22/17 - Sun 6/25/17 at 11am-5pm 
 • Thu 6/29/17 - Sun 7/2/17 at 11am-5pm 
 • Thu 7/6/17 - Sun 7/9/17 at 11am-5pm 
 • Thu 7/13/17 - Sun 7/16/17 at 11am-5pm 
 • Thu 7/20/17 - Sun 7/23/17 at 11am-5pm 
 • Thu 7/27/17 - Sun 7/30/17 at 11am-5pm 
 • Thu 8/3/17 - Sun 8/6/17 at 11am-5pm 
 • Thu 8/10/17 - Sun 8/13/17 at 11am-5pm 
 • Thu 8/17/17 - Sun 8/20/17 at 11am-5pm 
 • Thu 8/24/17 - Sun 8/27/17 at 11am-5pm 

Fresno Art Museum
address  2233 N. First St.
 Fresno, CA  93703
phone (559) 441-4221
hours Thu.-Sun. 11 am-5 pm
general adm $10, $5 ages 6-17, free to ages 5 and under
www.fresnoartmuseum.org